What Is Your Name?

I watch Creation as it works, a seamless masterpiece of love.
How can I fathom what the sparrow knows?
Or the timing of a spring time shower?
How can I understand the inner-man; the desires, raw and unfiltered, of humanity?
How can I fathom the galaxy’s treasures, Your blessings upon the forsaken?
How can I believe in an invisible God? All there ever was–faith.

How can I see through the suffering? Mine, ours, his, hers, theirs.
We seem to be trapped within our flesh and brainwashed into broken logic.
How do you expect me to love you when all around me is pain?
How can I push for a deeper relationship when the door seems to be locked shut?
How can I see Spirit and life when my eyes just see a Book?
Why do I flirt with death when all I have is this life to live?

Where is everyone when I feel alone?
Where is the goodness in today when I only feel failure in these bones?
How can I spread a fire among the world when everyone is doused in Satan’s wisdom?
How is there a possibility for love when all I see is persecution?
How can I trust a God when He is only a name?
How can man escape his fears? Is it my sacrifice or ritual?

No, but only one man’s sacrifice. A man that sweats blood and heals children.
A man whose questions were deeper.
Why did He take the cup upon Himself? How could He deem us worthy?
He did it because we are not worthy. He took our filthy blood on Himself; And drained it.
He fills us with Himself instead of our questions.
How great is our God of heaven, earth, and my own forgiven soul?

3 thoughts on “What Is Your Name?

Leave a comment