Prince of Spring


IMG_0351


Darkness shrouds this cold morning of unknown.
Nature surrounds me like a dear friend’s arms;
He tells me that all is not the same.
“You must hold on tight for the coming wild ride,” he says.
Sometimes I feel at one with the changing tide.

The icy breath nips at my nose.
It whispers of love and hope and dreams,
Shooing away the ice like a sip of warm cream.
Change is coming quick in this soul;
The evidence is all around me, I feel it strong.
Dirt beneath me shifts and groans.
A bright green shoot pops out of the ground;
Red petals bloom from the sprout,
Bold, natural, gorgeous–
But soon will be plucked and will die;
It was too young to survive.

I find myself walking on the late ice of social interaction;
The surface is frozen and smooth; which way should I move?
Their eyes follow me with every step.
I could say something wrong, so I don’t make a sound.
The laughs echo around and shatter the ground;
I fall through and plunge into the icy depths beneath.
I scream at myself for being so strange,
For holding onto my identity as Unfinished.

There is always that scared, little boy inside.
He hates talking to people but also the loneliness.
He hides behind his big strong dad and stays silent.
Spring hides behind the forces of Winter;
Too shy to come out sooner.

I could sit alone for hours in the Springtime,
Because I can learn so much from him.
Adapting; from Winter to Summer.
Rain spatters the fresh dirt, churns and mixes.
Perhaps the cold will roll in and bring flakes of snow,
To wipe out what was coming to life!

I cannot see the future picture of loveliness;
The mighty forces of Summertime,
Sweeping heat and refreshing breeze.
There is greener grass on the other side– of the year.
The times when the Sun shines over the dead,
The Son shining across the troubled children and men;
Bringing life back to what once was fallen.
Darkness shrouds this cold morning of unknown.

3 thoughts on “Prince of Spring

Leave a comment