Brother Wolf

Here’s a poem I wrote–inspired by the Jungle Book. I hope you enjoy!

Dear brother wolf, please howl at night for me,
and let me know that all’s alright and free.
And when the tiger’s burning eyes conspire,
do save me from that gleam like human fire.
Oh, when the eyes of gold capture my soul
please let me know you’ll fight for me forever.

Now would you howl in darkness till forever?
Until the burning dies, you’d howl for me?
Until the fire has gone far passed my soul?
To rest in your soft fur till I am free?
The trees will churn and burn, for I am fire.
Carry me unto the heaven’s pier.

Now would you howl though snake and ape conspire
Though tiger fierce with teeth would kill forever?
Please howl so I can hear and fight my fire.
Please howl until your voice has come to me.
I hear your voice, though dark and soft, to free,
to fight, protect, be used to find my soul.

I hear it call above my burning soul,
above the fiery forest where snakes conspire.
Where apes, tigers and men bind what is free.
Your voice, like fountain springs that flow forever.
Like wise black panther breath to teach, lead me.
Your soft gray chest to nest my thoughts of fire.

My arms deep in your fur forget the fire,
a peace, like rain and frogs, quiets my soul.
And there, in silence, I can dream of being me.
Your wise and yellow eyes do not conspire.
I wish to hold this in my hand forever,
but I must let it fall like stones, be free.

I leave the skin and fur, the water free.
I leave the loving trees, for I am fire.
My brother howl to let me know forever
That like cruel chains on elephants, our souls
will tethered be. And I choose to conspire
to not forget you. Howl to remember me.

Until the fire of man is lost forever,
and darkened, desolate souls cease to conspire,
I will wait for your free howl, remembering me.

About Jason

Jason Zimmerman is a 16-year-old passionate about serving God through writing and drama and loves embarking in strong God-honoring relationships with other believers. He is currently working on a full-length middle-grade novel, The Cruel Cat and The Hero’s Tail. He is also part of a Christian dance studio and has been taking piano lessons for ten years. His favorite book is The Giver by Lois Lowry, and he also loves the Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, and Cloak of the Light by Chuck Black.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

