?

Is life always like this?
To break out of the darkness
To reach out your hand–
just far enough
To grasp out for God.
Praying He’ll be close when He’s far away.
The blackness encroaching,
you find yourself choking.
Are you really alive at all?
When you’re all by yourself,
how can you break your fall?

When two lie down together they keep warm.
Nothing is so tight as a threefold chord.

And yet your crawling on the pebbled floor–
Through the concrete walls of lies
that squeeze out of the sky,
like metal magnets,
and you’re the target.
And you’re alone.

How can you reach out
when there’s no one to reach to?
How can you call loud
when no one will hear you?

But I know of scars and nails and a crown of thorns.
I know of wood and pierced sides and black skies–a man calling “Abba Father!”

While I grope in the dark,
with my hands torn apart.
When I look through the shadows
and peer with blind eyes.
I hear a drum beating
to the sound of His heart.
I remember the bleeding
and I learn to call out.

While He spits in my eyes and spreads mud on them too,
I will remember.
My blurified vision will be purified.
And I will learn to
look through Your eyes.
All the darkness around me
will sink in that mud.
And I’ll look to the truth,
and I’ll see your love.

I’ll see your love.
Wash over me, Lord.
Let me see your love.

About Jason

Jason Zimmerman is a 16-year-old passionate about serving God through writing and drama and loves embarking in strong God-honoring relationships with other believers. He is currently working on a young adult novel entitled Thrush Call. He is also part of a Christian dance studio. One of his all-time favorite books is The Giver by Lois Lowry, but he’s always open to new reading possibilities. He aims to obey God with his whole heart and can’t wait for all things to be made new when Christ returns.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

