If You’d Come Back-A Poem

I was depressed and broken
You were maybe joking-
But I think that you were sad.
Maybe if I had opened my mouth.
Maybe if I had said something.
Things would be different.
But that day is far away.
Your heart tears.
You don’t care.
I wanted to tell you what love was.
I wanted to show you I wanted. . .
Wanted to open up an opportunity.
There was an invisible wall between you and me.
If I had said your name-
Pushed past the pain. . .
But when I looked at you
I was jealous
And when I looked away
I was bitter.
The cold turned into hate,
My soul littered.
And when you opened up,
I didn’t know what to say.
I prayed.
And he was with you.
And he whispered.
I knew he knew you.
And I did not.
What was I missing?
What have I lost?
You spoke the curse,
And I walked in the door.
I entered as a spy,
And I began to die.
I was in a camp not mine,
But I truly felt it.
Now I’ve seen the sun,
Felt the breeze.
Are you here?
If I had known things,
If I had not.
What have I lost?
If only, you’d come back.

About Jason

Jason Zimmerman is a 16-year-old passionate about serving God through writing and drama and loves embarking in strong God-honoring relationships with other believers. He is currently working on a young adult novel entitled Thrush Call. He is also part of a Christian dance studio. One of his all-time favorite books is The Giver by Lois Lowry, but he’s always open to new reading possibilities. He aims to obey God with his whole heart and can’t wait for all things to be made new when Christ returns.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

